About Us

The United Dioceses of Tuam, Limerick & Killaloe

Our Diocese was formed on 1st November 2021 when the Utd Dioceses of Limerick & Killaloe and the Utd Dioceses of Tuam, Killala and Achonry became amalgamated under one Bishop.

At the same time, TKA Diocese was transferred from the Church of Ireland Province of Armagh to the Province of Dublin and the Ballisodare Group of Parishes moved to the Diocese of Kilmore, Elphin and Ardagh.

The Right Revd Michael Burrows was appointed as our Bishop on 14th January, 2022.

Bishop Burrows was enthroned in all six cathedrals over the course of April and May 2022 – to give him his full title, he is the Bishop of Tuam, Killala, Achonry, Limerick, Ardfert, Aghadoe, Killaloe, Kilfenora, Clonfert, Kilmacduagh and Emly.


The United Dioceses of Tuam, Limerick & Killaloe cover the counties of Mayo, Galway, Clare, part of Sligo, Limerick, Kerry, much of Tipperary, part of Offaly and a small portion of Roscommon. The geographical area is approximately one third of the island of Ireland and includes most of the Wild Atlantic Way.